Professor Lane W. Martin is a Professor and Associate Chair of Materials Science and Engineering and a Faculty Scientist in the Materials Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Lane received his B. S. in Materials Science and Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University in Dec. 2003 and his M. S. and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 2006 and 2008, respectively. From 2008 to 2009, Lane served as a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Quantum Materials Program, Materials Science Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. From 2009 to 2014, Lane was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. In 2014, Lane returned to the University of California, Berkeley as an Associate Professor. As of Nov. 2018, Lane has published >185 papers, his work has been cited >13,500 times (resulting in an h-index of 51 and an i10-index of 121), and he has given >125 invited/plenary/keynote talks during his career. Lane’s work has garnered a number of awards including the being named a 2018 Highly Cited Researcher (meaning he is ranked in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in Web of Science, the 2017 Excellence in Laboratory Safety Grand Prize, UC Berkeley Environmental, Health, and Safety, the Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars from the American Ceramic Society (2016), the American Association for Crystal Growth (AACG) Young Author Award (2015), the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (2014), the Dean’s Award for Research Excellence for the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (2013), the National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2012), the Army Research Office Young Investigator Program Award (2010), a National Science Foundation IGERT Fellowship in Nanoscale Science and Engineering (2004-2007), the Intel Robert Noyce Fellowship in Microelectronics (2007-2008), the Graduate Excellence in Materials Science Award (2006), and the Materials Research Society’s Gold Medal Award for Graduate Students (2006).